Freewill in progress

Freewill was able to solve the Burma14 TSP problem for the first time tonight!

(Click on image to enlarge)

Freewill solving Burma14

Now, it’s just a matter of discovering why my distance calculations are a little bit different than those from the TSPLIB ones.  Either TSPLIB is using a different formula to calculate its distances (I’m using Haversine) or it’s using different ellipsoid data (I’m using those from WGS84).  But since everybody uses WGS84 nowadays and my distance results are a little bit greater than those from TSPLIB, I suspect it’s using one of the Vincenty formulas.  That’s what I’ll investigate next!

Besides, while looking at the GeoSphere documentation, I was thinking it would be cool to port that stuff to Smalltalk!  Does anyone need this?!?!  Drop me a line if it’s the case!

 

Laisser un commentaire

